pjlogo.jpg (1548 bytes)


Mixolydian Mode Scale

Here is a lesson from a longtime supporter Andrew Koblick of Amazing Guitar.

Amazing Guitar Just released an Update
to thier Flagship Product Amazing Guitar:


Also recently has released, to much positive acclaim
the Ultimate Blues Primer: http://www.guitar5day.com/pj-ubp.html

Here is another Free Guitar Lesson
The Mixolydian mode which is made up of 7 notes:

C D E F G A Bb C

C mixolydian is just like C major with 7th note Flat. C major has a B and
C mixolydian has a Bb.

The Mixolydian Mode is derived from playing the 5th note of a major scale
up to the 4th note.

Look at the key of F major (2 octaves):

F G A Bb C D E F G A Bb C D E F
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 1

Now we go from #5 to #4:
C D E F G A Bb C

The chords that can be contructed from the Mixolydian mode are 7th 9th
11th 13th.

Another Progression would be:
C major / D minor/ F Major / C 7 / G minor / C Major or C7

This progression is in the Key of F but
centers around the C chord and has a mixolydian feel.

Here is a tablature of the scale:







The C Mixolydian scale can be played in several
other places across the neck of the guitar.

For More Forms and scale information please visit
the Ultimate Fretboard:

I hope you enjoy!

Andrew Koblick